Home > Adventures > (Button Answers) A WoW player survey!

(Button Answers) A WoW player survey!

1. Raider, farmer, PvPer, or altoholic?

Casual raider. I’d rather raid less casually, actually, but I’m a firm believer in the idea that raiding is only as fun with the people you’re raiding with. It frustrates me to be wiping for weeks on end on the Lich King with the 30% buff with no apparent progress, but at the same time, I’d rather be wiping with these people than succeeding with most of the Kingslayers I’ve met.

2. Favorite raid or dungeon?

Blackwing Lair. I love this place to pieces. It’s not much to look at but it feels like the place where a lot of Blizzard’s raid design was perfected. The fights are mechanically interesting and varied, with minimal tank-and-spank – you have the original Mind Control Orb boss; the original Dragon At Part Health Resisting Conversion (who is also the original “buff the hell out of the party so that they can win” boss, and honestly the only one that I think makes sense to date); a ridiculous gauntlet that must have been absolutely hellish at 60 and actually leads right into the boss as I feel gauntlets should; and after a couple of drake minibosses, you have the best Corehound model in the game which also is the only fight that allows/requires players to be responsible for their own dispels (more of this please Blizz); and then there’s Nefarian, who’s actually wickedly funny and toys with you throughout the fight. His abilities change depending on who’s fighting him! What more could you want?

3. Number one choice for a new playable race?

Nerubians, qiraji, or some other descendent of the aqir. I’m a big fan of non-humanoid sapient races in general. Nerubians would make the most sense at the moment, since we met some friendly ones at the AN/OK entrance, and since we’ve just taken down Arthas, whose relationship with the Nerubians is not well-explored. On the one hand, even the living ones seem happy to serve him. On the other hand, Anub’Arak in Azjol’Nerub expires with the remark “Never thought I’d be… free of him,” indicating that they may not be willing slaves after all. Lots of potential for story growth right there.

Arrakoa come in a close second.

4. Class you suck the most at?

I’ve tried druid, warrior, death knight, shaman and hunter in that order. Maybe it’s just because it was my first toon, but I’d have to say druid. I could never figure out when to shift forms, and was constantly going OOM. So, my level 23 druid is now my bank alt.

5. Original UI or modded UI?

Heavily, heavily modded. The parts of my UI that are not modded remain so only because I haven’t found a mod that does what I want it to yet. Unfortunately, Lua is completely inscrutable to me – the guides I’ve seen are all “Blah blah Lua is such an intuitive and easy language!” and I want to punch them in the mouth. I have a degree in computer science. C, C++, C#, Java, Ruby, Perl, Python, these are easy languages. Prolog, Haskell, these are challenging languages that nonetheless make sense. Lua? Can die in a fire.

6. Profession you’ve never levelled past 200?

Herbalism, Inscription, Alchemy, Blacksmithing, Tailoring, Jewelcrafting. Of these, the only one I’ve tried leveling past 200 and failed was Herbalism on my death knight. I thought having a level 60 character would make it easier… but it actually made it more difficult, because herb nodes are scattered unintuitively across much of horde territories. You can find both Peacebloom and Kingsblood in the Barrens, for instance. Leveling Herbalism as I level my new hunter is much less frustrating.

7. Favorite flying mount?

The frostwyrms. I know, it’s totally cliche, but I adore them. I would give a lot to have one, and if I weren’t in a position of authority in my guild and raid I probably would have quit and joined someone, anyone to progress towards my bloodbathed, despite the concerns I listed in #1.

8. Nozdormu — friend or foe, you figure?

I think Nozdormu is the next Malygos. Malygos was our enemy in terms of game mechanics, but when you come to think about it, he’s kind of… right. We should have listened to him, instead of killing him. I think Nozdormu’s story will play out the same way – the Infinite flight raises a good point, after all, in that these events have caused a lot of suffering; and we don’t really know what would happen if the timestream was changed. The bronze flight says that it would destroy the world, but we have no way of knowing if that’s true; and somehow I doubt that a faction dedicated to setting things right, led by the foremost authority on the timestream, would do something to intentionally damage the universe.

9. Useless item you have in your bank that you’ll never get rid of?

My first epic shield, the Wall of the Dead. It was given to me as a gift by my friend Blanket, who found it on one of those shamblers in southern Tanaris, near the entrance to Un’goro. I’m… not exactly sure why he was grinding mobs in Tanaris, but a few days later he found another one on the same spot, so he must have been looking for something. Anyway, it’s an awesome shield and the proc earned me astonished whispers at a DK using a shield or a warrior having Bone Shield, all the way up until I replaced it in Outland.

10. Most expensive thing you’ve ever bought?

Probably my Pillars of Might. I bought all of the primordials off the AH when they were still selling for 1500 or so each.

11. Favorite starting area?

Azuremyst Isle. It’s gorgeous and engaging.

12. Inane goal you worked hardest to achieve?

Still working on this one – the Scepter of the Shifting Sands quest. I’ve summoned the spirit of Malfurion Stormrage; defended Moonglade from a chaotic invasion from the Emerald Nightmare; pried the red scepter shard from Nefarian’s warm, dead talons; cooked a raid boss to resemble a 500 lb chicken; and defeated the ridiculous, mind-controlling-even-when-you-solo-him Dr. Weavil, as well as the subtle, short-leashed Twilight Corruptor. Now I only need 4 more elementium ore and to defeat a gigantic shark, and I can finally gain my reward of! …a non-equippable white item with no on-use effect. Wooo.

13. Darion Mograine VS Tirion Fordring, gloves off — winner is?

Tirion. He has godmode – excuse me, Lightmode – enabled.

14. Game music or your own playlist?

Neither. I like to be able to hear combat sounds. They’re often my first warning, as a tank, that someone has pulled something or a mob is casting something bad or hey I got a sword and board proc or crap he parried my shield slam or uh oh I’ve been taking more hits than is really healthy, time to pop a cooldown…

15. Particular option or setting that you always toggle on a new alt/server?

Nameplates on, overlapping nameplates on, view distance max.

16. Highest amount of levels gained in one play session?

Probably 7 or 8.

17. Thing you’d most like to experience or see in-game?

Garrosh and Varian in a fight to the death. Both of them die.

18. Worst PuG moment?

I’ve got a few funny PuG stories I trot out on a regular basis, but I don’t think these qualify – like the movies reviewed in Mystery Science Theater 3000, they at least give me something to laugh about. I guess I’d say the worst PuG moment was one I had before the dungeon finder was implemented; and its awfulness was characterized not so much by anything that happened in the dungeon, but instead by ridiculous and malicious abuse.

The first was on my first ever toon, a draenei prot warrior, in Scarlet Monastery. I signed on to tank for this group, when they brought in a level 80 friend to run them through it. I didn’t really understand the concept of “being run through” separate from a “run,” so when this death knight ran in and started aggroing the whole first room of the Library, I went batshit. All I knew was that I was supposed to keep aggro and this person had aggro and wtf he pulled the whole room wtf death incoming PROTECT THE HEALER *challenging shout*.

Naturally, I was kicked. If it had just been that, it would be a funny story. Instead the group leader/healer started harassing me in whispers, calling me fail not for my actual fail, but for not having buffed the party. I was a new player and completely confused – why would the healer want battle shout? – and it wasn’t until I’d taken ten minutes of abuse, for not using Kings, then not even having Kings trained, then not even knowing what Kings was, before I mentioned something about Battle Shout and she finally realized that I was a warrior. Rather than apologizing, the healer berated me for not knowing enough about the game to be able to correct her/hold my own against the abuse, and also, weirdly, started flirting with me – telling me that she was blonde and a girl irl. As I am myself a (sometimes)-blonde girl irl, I was not impressed by this, but she kept bringing it up as though it would excuse her actions.

Less than a month later I rerolled Horde. It was mostly unrelated to this incident, but I do recall thinking that at least on my tauren no one would mistake me for a paladin. (Except that it has in fact happened on my tauren, sigh.)

19. Best dungeon/raid moment?

Our first (and to date only, as we haven’t reset since) Sindragosa kill. After weeks of failing on her we were failing slightly later in the fight than we had been. DPS started to drop… first the paladin, going to drop his ice tomb, got too close to Sindy’s head and died from the breath instead; then the raid-healing druid failed at Blistering Cold, and the rogue and lock went down before the priests could compensate; the mage was tombed and there was nothing we could do for him, the hunter blew all his cooldowns on Sindy before eventually being tombed himself, but she had only a little health left, 6 digits… 5 digits… the two tanks whacking at her ineffectually, the one remaining live, untombed healer spamming Holy Fire… everything seeming to run in slow motion… 4 digits omg… omg… GOOOOOAL!

20. Worst quest ever that you totally hate doing?

The storm giant quest in Zul’drak. Pain in the ass. I don’t know how I ever did it, but I tried again a few times on my shaman and couldn’t manage it. The vehicle is clunky and gigantic, the goals are spread far apart and not clearly indicated, and the healing mechanism is ridiculous.

21. First thing you do when you hit 80?

Check the guild bank for blue and purple level 80 BoEs.

22. Character (of yours) you would RP as if you had to?

Both of my main toons already have personalities, and both of them are somewhat unsettling. I suppose I’d probably play as Hoquet, though, both because voodoo is awesomely cool and because Lindy is a gigantic ball of passion and repression that would become tiring to play after a little while.

23. Keyboard, mouse, or both for using abilities?

All of my in-combat abilities are bound to keys. I do use my mouse for non-combat abilities like mounting, fishing, drinking, or imbuing though.

24. Thottbot or WoWhead?

WoWhead. Thottbot just feels like a mess.

25. Acronym you’ve seen in chat but don’t understand?

I’m pretty good about asking after acronyms. I recently learned that PBD stands for Pristine Black Diamond among the Insane in the Membrane crowd, does that count?

26. Plot point you’d like to see resolved someday?

Ner’zhul.

27. Biggest thing you’re looking forward to in Cataclysm?

Paladins not taking center stage. Hopefully.

28. Guild event you’d like to see?

An IRL guild meetup. Probably at a karaoke bar.

29. Level range you hate being in?

30-40. It’s too easy to run into “Oh shit” territory in STV, Thousand Needles bottoms out at 35 or so, and all you get in the dungeon finder is Scarlet Monastery over and over and over.

30. Favorite map to quest in?

You won’t believe me, but Sillithus. I love desert zones, I love silithids, and I love trying and failing to solo Wanted: Deathclaw at level. I barely got it down with a group of 3 (prot warrior, fire mage, resto druid) back when I was leveling my warrior, after a couple wipes. Paralyze + knockback off a cliff is terrible. (This was before heirlooms, of course.)

Categories: Adventures Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 17, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Leave a Reply

